On the Rosary

Avé María, grátia pléna, Dóminus técum. Benedícta tu in muliéribus, et benedíctus frúctus véntris túi, Iésus. Sáncta María, Máter Déi, óra pro nóbis peccatóribus, nunc et in hóra mórtis nóstrae. Ámen.

I’ve been given a few rosaries over the years, all of which have some sentiment, and I do remember those family, friends, moments when I pray.

At our university, we’ve created a rosary tree and I placed a rosary from Ampleforth Abbey. It is special to me, because it was the first place I considered a vocation to priesthood. To some extent, without this initial seed planted by God, I would never have developed a strong interest in theology and I would not be at university to read Theology and Media Studies.

When I pray the rosary, I’m reminded of Our Lady’s unique vocation, and her willingness to God’s will. I’ve already said that this rosary comes from Ampleforth, the place where I first felt called to priesthood. But over the past few years I’ve kept an open mind to His vocation for me, so whatever it is I do, I pray that I will have the same willingness and desire for God as Our Lady.

“The greatest method of praying is to pray the Rosary.” St. Francis de Sales

When I pray the rosary, I recall my friends, family and those who need my prayers and ask Our Lady to intercede to Christ. He listened to Mary at the wedding at Cana, and still listens to her pleas and petitions for his loving mercy upon our world.

Mary turned to Jesus and said, “They have no more wine.” “Dear woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My time has not yet come.” His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”       (John 2:3-5, NIV)

When Christians pray the rosary, the whole Church is united in prayer with each other. We consider our core beliefs and ask Mary to intercede to Christ for is continued forgiveness and loving mercy. . It’s said that the rosary was handed to St Dominic by Our Lady in recalling the life of Christ. It is more than just a meditation of Christ’s life, we connect, I connect in a special way with the Communion of Saints praying and worshiping God with us.

“Give me an army saying the Rosary and I will conquer the world.” -Saint Pope Pius IX

I was told by my parish priest, during times of persecution, particularly in East Asia, groups of Christians would gather to say the rosary, because there were no priests to administer the Sacrament of the Eucharist at Mass. It is such a special prayer because it unites our minds with that of heaven. Many people say, that if you should fall asleep while praying the rosary, your Guardian Angel prays it for you. Having said that, I always wake still holding on the bead which I fell asleep on.

When you pray the rosary, I shall pray for you as I pray the rosary, that you may be truly blessed by God, in honouring Christ and His mother.

Sancta Maria, Ora Pro Nobis.

2 responses to “On the Rosary

  1. Pingback: Rosary, a refresher | Deep in the well·

  2. Pingback: FABULOUS COMPOSITIONS/PERFORMANCES: Marian Anderson “Ave Maria” by Schubert | euzicasa·

Leave a comment